When it comes to driving laws, some are the same across the board and others vary from state to state. Whether you’ve just moved to Alabama or you’ve been a long time resident and simply need a refresh, here are 3 of the most important Alabama driving laws you should know.
The left lane is for passing only
A little-known driving law that has changed in recent years in Alabama is that you can only use the left lane to pass. It is illegal to “ride” the left lane or use it for anything other than passing. The reason this law was put into effect is that driving for too long in the left lane is dangerous and can increase your chances of being in or causing an accident.
Phone use while driving has to be hands-free
According to Alabama Code Title 32. Motor Vehicles and Traffic § 32-5A-350,
“A person may not operate a motor vehicle on a public road, street, or highway in Alabama while using a wireless telecommunication device to write, send, or read a text-based communication.”
According to the law, violators will be fined:
- $25 (first violation)
- $50 (second violation)
- $75 (third or subsequent violation)
Signal before changing lanes or turning
Alabama law requires drivers to refrain from moving left or right until it is safe for them to do so, and that movement must be preceded by signaling. Some Alabamians forget or are too lazy to use their turn signal, while others are guilty of ignoring other drivers’ turn signals.